March 26th was again proclaimed ORA and NRA day in Oklahoma. This is our Second year to celebrate this special recognition with the ORA spending the day at the capitol recognizing our members and their special accomplishments. The day concluded with an evening reception for our legislators and elected officials. Once again, this has been a wonderful celebration of responsible gun ownership and the best of our firearm community here in Oklahoma.

Meeting with the Governor

The ORA accompanied the OK Sharpshooter team in meeting with Governor Stitt for a special congratulations. When he asked the girls what makes them so good, their reply, “we’re girls!” They further explained their physiological advantage in competitive shooting, making this a great opportunity for girls wanting to pursue NCAA scholarships and even a path to the Olympics.

President Mark Vaughan also presented Governor Stitt an honorary membership to the ORA for his support of the ORA and the firearm community in Oklahoma.

Special Recognitions

On the House Floor, ORA member, Chris Kannady, was recognized as the veteran of the day. We hope to highlight Representative Kannady in a future issue of the Sharpshooter as his accomplishments are numerous.

On the Senate and House Floors, the OK Sharpshooter team was also recognized for their national and international accomplishments in competitive shooting. These girls are a wonderful representation of Oklahoma as well as the ORA.

Legislator of the Year Awards

The ORA was pleased to honor Oklahoma Legislators in recognition of their upholding our Second Amendment rights and supporting Oklahoma Gun owners and enthusiasts, which are the key principals and mission of the ORA.


  • Senate Majority Leader Greg McCortney
  • Senator Jo Anna Dossett
  • Senator John Haste
  • House:
  • Representative Kevin Wallace
  • Representative Nick Archer

Notable Mentions

We are grateful for our many supporters beyond the legislature. A few of our many notable mentions:

  • Former Congressman Dan Boren, Secretary of Commerce for the Chickasaw Nation
  • Sheriff Tommy Johnson III, Oklahoma County
  • Undersheriff Jim Anderson, Oklahoma County
  • Dr. Tim Faltyn, President of Murray State College
  • Suzi Brewster
  • Kelvin Curtis, NRA
  • Tricia Wisehart, Oklahoma State Director, Women for Gun Rights
  • Whitetails of Oklahoma
  • Oklahoma City Gun Club
  • Jerry’s Gun, Ardmore
  • Oklahoma Machine Guns
  • SE Realty